Mee Goreng (Stir Fry) Malaysia street food

by yearoffood

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mee Goreng (Stir Fry) Malaysia street food from Plenty by Yotam Ottolenghi
I was so excited to use my wonderful new wok, hopefully seasoned correctly, with wonderful fresh vegetables to make this beautiful looking dish.  O.K. – how difficult can seasoning a wok be?  In the store, Randy explained everything carefully, he actually repeated it  twice,  and I thought I knew exactly what to do.  I even checked the brochure he had given me  but it wasn’t until after I was done seasoning that I was pretty sure that I shouldn’t have put oil on the bottom of the pan.  On Sunday I actually called The Wok Shop to clarify the directions and to see if I had done it correctly.  Randy asked me why I would ever want to season a surface that was enamel, which was what the bottom of my flat bottom wok was made of, and I agreed (knowing I had already done it.)  I hung up and went directly to wash off the back of my wok.   This dish cooked up so quickly and I loved the way the dish turned out, well sort of.  I loved the crisp, beautifully cooked vegetables and tofu but the sauce had quite a strange taste – sort of Indian and I wasn’t quite expecting that.  The recipe says that  Malay, Chinese and Indian dishes like this are served all over Malaysia  in open air street food stands.  This recipe turned out to be sort of Indian as it  called for cumin and coriander and that was the taste I wasn’t too keen on.  I can’t wait to make this again tonight but will try a slightly different sauce.   I love my wok!

