Dave’ Gourmet Barbecued Salmon Dinner AND Salmon roll sandwich for lunch

by yearoffood

Image

This salmon was so easy and so very delicious.  After my wok buying trip to Chinatown (details when I get the thing seasoned and use it at least once) I wanted a simple, simple dinner.  Randy, from the Wok Shop mentioned that he loved to steam fish with just black bean sauce and a little ginger and it sounded great. On the way home I bought a salmon filet and proceeded to whip us a little marinade with black bean and ginger.  It didn’t really taste too great so I added soy sauce and then I thought it was pretty salty and still not too great. I was contemplating adding something sweet when I remembered a bottle sauce I had purchased on a whim a few days ago.  I took a small taste of Dave’s Gourmet Soyabi Sauce (soy, rice wine vinegar, sugar sesame oil, wasabi, ginger and garlic) and jumped for joy – what a great taste.  Very fresh tasting and very wonderful.  I brushed some sauce on the salmon and tossed it on the grill sprinkled with slivers of red pepper and green onions.  It was outstanding – a definite “9”. 

Image

I always make extra salmon so I can mix up salmon salad sandwiches the next day.  I added a little mayo, a bit more of Dave’s sauce and sliced celery to the left over salmon and peppers and stuffed it into a toasted bun with lettuce – wow!  When I was a kid and visiting the East Coast we would go to Howard Johnson’s for fried clams and lobster rolls.  This was my version of the lobster roll and I loved it.

