Sunchoke Bisque for Breakfast & Sunchoke Bisque for Lunch

by yearoffood

Sunchoke Bisque from Deborah Madison’s Local Flavors


Every time I open the fridge the sunchokes stare out at me wondering why in the world I bought them if I was never going to make the bisque.  This morning was my breaking point and I just decided to use them up and start the soup while I was having my coffee.  It is so easy to make – brown some chopped red potatoes, onions, celery and a pound of scrubbed sunchokes all cut the same size for about 10 minutes.  Then add garlic, bay leaves and 6 cups of broth and cook for about 20 minutes and you are done.  I was going to put this in the fridge and then heat it up for lunch or dinner – adding a little cream to thin it as the recipe states – but it smelled so good that we had mugs of it for breakfast. We had it again for lunch, adding the cream, but I think I prefer it without any added cream.  I sprinkled the lunch soup with sunflower sprouts copying Lee’s presentation the other night and loved it all over again.  It is the most unusual taste – really wonderful.  This is a definite “9” for both of us.  This would be a lovely starter soup except that I almost never serve dinner in courses with a starter – maybe a Christmas dinner.  It just seems like a starter item but it is quite filling and satisfying as a meal.  Sunchokes – so sorry to be so long getting to you – you were wonderful.

