Tuscan Ribollita Soup with White Beans

by yearoffood

Heirloom Beans from Rancho Gordo by Steve Sando

Tuscan Ribollita Soup with White Beans is one of my favorite soups full of kale, cabbage, veggies, hearty broth and white beans all baked in the oven with crostini on top sprinkled with grated parmesan cheese.  Yum.  I make this soup fairly often and always love it.  I crisp the bread in the oven before putting it on the soup to bake and I think it comes out perfectly.  The top of the bread is very crisp and the bottom is melting into the soup – very much like French Onion Soup.  It looks great coming out of the oven and I love the taste of it.  I watched Snackman take his first few mouthfuls of mostly soggy bread and I realized he wasn’t ready to rate this lunch yet.  I gave him a refilled bowl of hot soup with no bread and he definitely liked it better.  He still only gave it a “7” – bummer.  It is always a strong “8” for me.  Good thing I love it because it makes enough for an army and I will be having it for lunch for several days – actually I can’t wait.  The soup tastes wonderful even without baking it in the oven and that is usually how I have it for lunch after the first day.  I am not sure if it would freeze well with all the greens in it but I may give it a try.

Believe it or not I am thinking of a spicy tofu dinner tonight – I have been thinking of it for several day now and still haven’t made it so we will see.

xoxo, Spicy Diva

