Sunday Roast Chicken with Potatoes, Lemon, and Thyme

by yearoffood

The French Slow Cooker by Michele Scicolone

Recipe
Definitely a Slow Cooker Sunday – it was bubbling away all day and the house was filled with wonderful aromas.  I made a big pot of vegetable broth first in the slow cooker and then I started the chicken.  The chicken was a hit –so easy to do – it looked and smelled amazing the whole time.   The chicken could have been a little more browned but it was so moist and juicy and perfectly cooked. The potatoes and vegetables were also amazing.  Snack Man gave it an “8” but said he might go higher if I gave him a second helping – which I did.  I usually don’t like to see a slow cooker recipe that calls for an additional step of cooking something on the stove afterwards but it took just a minute to heat up the pan juices and add some cornstarch for nice gravy.   A definite do again, even if it isn’t a Sunday.

Lunch today will be the famous Hot and Sour Soup from Martha Stewart’s “Great Fast Food” and I will add the leftover chicken (there actually isn’t much left over) to Snack Man’s for a special touch.  I’m just finishing breakfast bean tacos and coffee but I’m already hungry for lunch and this spicy delicious soup.

xo, Spicy Diva

