Potato and Herb Gratin without Herbs

by yearoffood

The French Slow Cooker by Michele Scicolone
The chicken was such a success; I decided to try a potato recipe from the same book.  Very simple to do and perfectly cooked and kind of tasty.  The flavor didn’t jump out but it was nice to have a different approach to spuds.  So few ingredients, so easy to toss together and completely “Hands Free” at dinner time prep.  It wasn’t till this morning that I realized I had left out the main herb in the recipe.   It called for 3 herbs, 2 Tbl parsley, 1 Tbl fresh thyme, and 1 tsp. chives – I forgot the parsley.  Well – that could have made a flavor difference.  We’ll see next time.  Another revelation this morning – why do I think I have to start the slow cooker exactly 6 hours before I want to eat?  The last two days I tried to start the food by 12:30 to be done by 6:30 but both days I was behind schedule.   It was closer to 2 when I finally plugged the cooker in and that meant it wasn’t ready until 8.   One of the best things about the cooker is that it will keep things warm for hours after the food has finished cooking so I could have put the food on in the morning and it would have been done and ready whenever I wanted it.   I am definitely a Slow Learner about the Slow Cooker.

We did have Martha’s Hot and Sour soup for lunch – maybe it is only a “9”, but oh my, it is wonderful.  This is the 3rd time I’ve made it – so that is pretty amazing for me.

xo, Spicy Diva

