Tomato Soup

by yearoffood

There are 3 tomato soup recipes that I have made in the past that I think we have all liked;
One is from Dinosaur Barbecue and it was great.
One is from Martha Stewart Tuscan Tomato Soup – which was delicious
One is from the Diva’s Slow cooker book – also delicious
I can’t remember which one we liked the very best, but I think the last one I made was the slow cooker one – it is the easiest one also.
Combine all ingredients in slow cooker and cook on low for 6 hours.
2 cans 28 oz whole tomatoes – drained
1/2 cup olive oil
2 teaspoons dried basil
1 teaspoon dried marjoram
1/2 cu chopped red onion
6 cloves garlic coarsely chopped 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
pinch red pepper flakes
1/2 cup veg or chicken broth
Use an immersion blender to puree the soup when finished (or transfer to blender)
serve with grated Parmesan or spinach pesto
Martha’s  Tuscan Tomato doesn’t take 6 hours:
Heat butter and oil in heavy pot. Cook carrots, celery and onion over medium-low heat for 20 minutes.  Do not brown them.
Add tomatoes, sugar and half the basil to pot and cook 15 to 20 minutes.
Stir in remaining basil, season with salt and pepper.  sprinkle with cheese if desired.
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/4 cup olive oil
2 carrots, peeled and finely minced
2 stalks celery, finely minced
2 onions, finely minced
2 quarts canned tomatoes
1/2 cup chopped basil
salt & pepper, pinch of sugar
I think these were both delicious!!! I made a note on Martha’s that a few days later I added olives and capers and used it as a wow sauce on linguine.
