Beautiful Paella but Burned Pan

by yearoffood

The Slow Mediterranean Kitchen by Paula Wolfert

Albacore Tuna, Ahi Tuna, Prawns, Mussels, artichoke hearts, roasted peppers – how can you go wrong?  The paella tasted as wonderful as it looked.  I was using my new Debuyer mineral pan made in France – go gorgeous – heavy as lead – made of iron – 100% natural mineral material.  Supposedly it is indestructible and will actually become naturally non-stick the more you use it.  I have loved just looking at and holding the pan and am quite dismayed that I may actually have done the impossible – wrecked the non-wreckable pan.  This pan is designed to be used at very high heat, searing food without burning. For some reason I was thinking that paella should have sort of a crusty rice bottom so I cranked up the heat to get that result.  I did get a crust – a burned, black crust that couldn’t be eaten.  The good news is that it didn’t affect the rest of the dish at all.  I scraped out the burned rice but my new pan now has some weird black marks on the bottom that I am pretty sure shouldn’t be there.  I am now waiting for instructions to see what I might need to do to my pan to fix it.  Anyway – the paella was a great success – a “9” from both of us.  Just finished it up today – a squeeze of fresh lemon and a warm gorgeous looking and tasting lunch.

I made Martha’s Hot and Sour Soup for lunch and loved it again. It tastes so much like it’s from a Chinese restaurant, which isn’t always a compliment, but in this case it is. I wonder if it would still be as good if canned chicken broth, which the recipe calls for, was used instead of my broth.

It can’t be the end of pomegranate season – can it??  I didn’t see them in the store yesterday and I became immediately depressed. Having mastered the magic technique for seeding them, I have been gobbling them up on everything lately. I am actually sort of addicted to these crunchy, bursting with bright flavor seeds.  I had just been thinking that I love the taste of fresh pomegranates as much as I love fresh strawberries in season – now that is really saying something.  I couldn’t believe there weren’t any at the market.  It just never dawned on me that they had a season, like everything else, and that one day that season would be over.   Hopefully there is a few weeks left to enjoy them.

