Morning Prep Time

by yearoffood

JAZZ ON THE PLAZA last night – I can’t believe we actually went down to the Bistro for wine and dinner and music.  Larry Dunlop was playing and it sounded like a great idea early in the day, but —-   I tried to beg out of it at the last minute but Snack Man really wanted to go – it turned out to be great fun.  I don’t know if that is what energized me but this morning, as I sipped my French Roast, but I began to prep a few things.  First I put on a large pot of our famous vegetable broth, which of course is a snap to do.  Then I roasted peppers, plum tomatoes, onions and garlic and made that wonderful salsa from Rich Bayless.  OK – the oven was on so why stop here – I am now roasting a yam and also an acorn squash that will be done shortly.  I also seeded 2 pomegranates.
There is only one problem with trying to plan ahead meals for a week (or even a few days).  If you don’t actually make them you end up with a fridge crowded with food that will probably end up being thrown out.  So I just began to dig through the fridge and got to work.  So what am I going to do with pomegranate seeds, salsa, acorn squash and broth? Not really sure if I can combine the recipes these are all part of into one, but I’m thinking of Huevos Rancheros for brunch today.   I was already soaking Black beans to cook when Snack Man asked for the Indian Sheppard’s Pie, so I cooked the beans anyway and they are also in the fridge. The squash was supposed to be for a recipe from Cakebread Cellars (Acorn Squash Soup with Puff Pastry); I thought if I at least got the squash and yam cooked I might have a chance at making this soon. The broth I just felt like and wanted to use up some fennel (which I always have in the fridge but this one was looking a bit sad), onions, carrots, etc.   Off to get the squash.

xo Spicy Diva

